At Sanatan Mission, we focus on Dhyana as prescribed by ancient rishi (sage) Patanjali. This is the penultimate stage before Samadhi.

Through dhyana, one can attain a much elevated level than what can be achieved through meditation, which is only a state of calm mind derived by driving out or blocking all thoughts.

Pratyahara is stopping the flow of information from outside by turning the mind inward. Pratyahara takes the sadhaka (practitioner) to next stages of Yoga – Dharana (concentration) and Dhyana (deep meditation). Samadhi is the last stage of mystical absorption.

It should be noted that Dhyana involves both Pratyahara and Dharana and along with it the practice of Yoga.

For Dhyana, it is important that the subject should practice the following steps of Yoga. These are Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, and Dharana.

Yama is abhoring violence and falsehood, controlling of senses, and giving up of materialistic pursuit.

Niyama involves purity both of thought and space, a life of austerity, and over-riding faith in dharma.

Asana, according to the Yoga Sutras, is defined as a firm and relaxed seated position.

Asanas are also performed as physical exercise characterisically defined by different yoga postures. Yoga asanas increase concentration of mind and help in improving health.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s